Maryland Hit and Run Lawyer

In accordance with state law, motorists who are involved in a collision are required to remain at the scene until they have fulfilled specific obligations. Leaving the scene of an accident is frequently referred to as a hit and run, and is punishable both by criminal penalties and sanctions from the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA).

If you have been charged with fleeing the scene of a crash, you should get in touch with a Maryland hit and run lawyer immediately to protect your legal rights and discuss the best next steps. Securing a criminal attorney could be critical to successfully fighting the prosecution’s case and mitigating the serious consequences of this offense.

Common Causes

There are numerous actions that could result in a hit and run charge and warrant a consultation with a Maryland lawyer. For example, a hit and run could occur if someone falls asleep while behind the wheel, drives distracted, or texts while driving. Some of these actions could make individuals unaware that they are been involved in an accident, and they could leave the scene inadvertently. A local lawyer who is familiar with leaving the scene charges could examine the specific details of the accused individual’s case.

Hit and Run Laws

Under Maryland Transportation Code § 20-104, any driver involved in an accident causing injury, property damage, or death is obligated to remain at the scene until they have fulfilled the following responsibilities:

  • Call 911 for an ambulance or arrange transportation for anyone who requests medical care or obviously requires medical attention
  • Render any injured person reasonable assistance
  • Provide the name, address, and vehicle registration number (including a driver’s license, if requested) to any individual injured in the accident or attending the damaged property
  • Provide this information and present ID to any responding law enforcement officer
  • If it is not possible for someone to fulfill the above two obligations (no law enforcement is present at the scene or no one involved in the accident is able to receive the information), report the accident to law enforcement immediately and provide the required information

Hit and Run Penalties

The penalties for a hit and run accident depend on the level of personal injury and property damage. Generally, someone who is convicted of a hit and run in Maryland could face up to 60 days in prison and/or $500 in fines. If property damage is involved, the MVA could assess up to eight points on the driver’s record, which could lead to license suspension.

If an accident causes severe bodily harm, the alleged offender could face felony charges punishable by a prison term of up to five years and upwards of $5,000 in fines. When an accident results in death, the alleged offense could be charged as felony manslaughter and incur penalties of up to 10 years’ incarceration and enhanced fines of up to $10,000. An attorney in the area could help someone accused of a hit and run potentially avoid these penalties.

Benefits of a Maryland Hit and Run Attorney

A conviction for a hit and run could have a long-lasting impact that may affect an individual’s driving privileges, freedom, and livelihood. Given the consequences, it could be critical to speak with a Maryland hit and run lawyer right away if you are facing such charges. An attorney could identify the appropriate defense strategy for your case and give you a fighting chance against the accusations leveled against you. Call today to schedule a confidential case consultation and discuss your possible legal defenses.