2020 Make A Difference Scholarship Winner

The team at Matthew Wilson Attorney at Law started the 2020 Make A Difference Scholarship to recognize students who have big ideas of how to make their dreams a reality. We enjoy reviewing the submissions from our applicants discussing how they plan to work towards achieving their dreams. While we were only able to award one applicant this scholarship, we hope that all of our applicants will continue to pursue the dreams they shared with us.

2020 Scholarship Winner: Laura Chun

“To the lawyers at Matthew Wilson Attorney at Law, I want to express my sincerest gratitude for selecting me as your 2020 Make A Difference Scholarship recipient. When I received the news I won this year’s scholarship, I was beyond ecstatic. Winning this scholarship is particularly special to me because of what the scholarship stands for: making a difference in the world. Unlike other scholarships which are merely focused on academics, the 2020 Make a Difference Scholarship takes a holistic approach to an applicant, weighing their academic career alongside how their dreams will facilitate practical and meaningful change to the world.

This scholarship will help me further my education at the University of California, Irvine School of Law where I am currently a first-year law student. My mother was a refugee who legally immigrated to the U.S following the end of the Vietnam War. She told me the legal
services she received when immigrating to the U.S allowed her and her family to live a prosperous life in America. This story continues to motivate my legal career. While I have not decided what area of law I want to pursue, I know that it will be public interest focused. Law school can impose financial burdens that can dissuade students from pursuing a career in public interest or social justice. However, the 2020 Make A Difference Scholarship will help me alleviate that pressure and allow me to pursue a career grounded in social justice. Thank you again for choosing me as your 2020 Make A Difference Scholarship recipient.”